[3] The Muhal Richard Abrams Orchestra – Blu Blu Blu

26 Apr

I like the idea of jazz.  I enjoy the sounds, the instrumentation, and I’ve already discussed my belief that there’s not enough saxophone in the world.

But more often than not, I’m not clear what it is I’m listening to when I hear “serious” jazz.  Tom  Moon tells me that what I’m about to listen to on queueing up Blu Blu Blu is an excellent example of free jazz, but even after a quick peek at Wikipedia for a definition, I’m not much the wiser.

Guess that, much like with Moorish Music from Mauritania, I should just see where my ears take me . . .

Blu Blu Blu

Well the opening number made me want a glass of whiskey, but perhaps that was merely the superficial similarity with the opening scenes of Leaving Las Vegas.  And to begin with I am unsure how I feel about the “misplaying” of the brass – I would possibly do better with this after hearing and gaining greater familiarity for some of the more traditional jazz albums that this is building off of.  A flaw in the alphabetical nature of the list?

That said, I’m engrossed again, and have a greater grounding of where this is coming from than I did for Moorish Music.

And, if I’m honest, the bourbon helps.

The early parts of Cycles Five sound like one of those minimalist pieces (that I love so well) gone subtly and fascinatingly wrong – the difference between rigid phase shifting and musicians’ choices.  When it slips all the way out of any sort of regularity it loses me for a few phrases before returning to the theme.

Throughout the album there is beautiful piano work, anchoring the bizarre woodwind and brass noises coming from all directions. Then in Bloodlines, a gorgeous melodic trumpet solo played straight for a while that is just heartbreaking.  Soon enough it shifts into an ever accelerating big band swing thing that is ever so slightly skewed, as if seen through a reject from a circus’ house of mirrors.

As for the Muddy Waters homage that the album is named for, it’s played almost straight enough for me to wish I was listening to a classic blues album instead.

But something odd happens over the next few days, then weeks.

I remember thinking that I was looking forward to hearing Cycles Five several more times, and when I come back to it I find that the scales and themes are now clearly recognizable, allowing the performers to roll around getting very, very messy in them.

Through multiple plays, I not only start to hear much more of the familiar melody and rhythm of big band standards and classic blues, I find myself humming along to atonal passages, tapping my foot to arhythmic sections.  Although I may not know the musical theory behind it, the math of music – when played this well – means I don’t have to understand it.

I just have to listen.

Despite my brain *still* defaulting to ABBA choruses as I walk down the street, Blu Blu Blu is the first album early in this process that I am sure I will continue to listen to over and over.

Which is why I’m doing this.  While I intellectually enjoyed Moorish Songs, with Abrams I have discovered something I want to hear more of, feel more of – squeaks squawks, whistles and all.

Owned before blogging?  No.  (0/3.  0%)
Heard before blogging?   No.  (1/3.  33%)
Recommend?                     Yes. (3/3.  100%)

Next week:  The Abyssinian Baptist Choir – Shakin’ The Rafters

Please “Follow” so you never miss a post, and consider sharing if you think others might enjoy this project.  Thanks!

9 Responses to “[3] The Muhal Richard Abrams Orchestra – Blu Blu Blu”

  1. Laurie Menke April 26, 2013 at 10:44 AM #

    Interesting how quickly you learned the variations. So you’re three for three on recommending. I guess Moon is doing a pretty good job! But I agree with you that it would be nice to group genres together in increasing complexity. Though maybe it’s better to have each one be totally different from the last so you can appreciate it on its own merits. Happy Friday and thanks for the read, Avri! 🙂

  2. nycavri December 3, 2014 at 8:02 AM #

    Reblogged this on . . . To Hear Before I Blog and commented:

    Throughout December I am going to revisit the first months of this journey, taking time at the end of this year to remember where I’ve been and what I’ve heard. (I actually had this one playing again yesterday, and it is still thoroughly enjoyable.)

  3. Conan McNamara December 3, 2014 at 8:35 AM #

    Of all the albums that you have introduced to me, this one has become a true favorite, gaining a regular place in my rotation of albums to listen to, and addition to many of my playlists that I shuffle for casual listening. It’s thoroughly enjoyable across different moods, times, and attention levels.

  4. nycavri December 3, 2014 at 8:43 AM #

    I completely agree, Conan. For all my worrying that this might not have been the best place to start on my Jazz education, it has turned out to be a highlight in a crowded field.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [5] AC/DC – Back In Black | . . . To Hear Before I Blog - May 10, 2013

    […] just like that – after the cheesy pop and exotic world albums, the experimental jazz and mediocre gospel – we’re in my wheelhouse for the first time.  An album I already know.  […]

  2. [10] The Cannonball Adderley Quintet – At The Lighthouse | . . . To Hear Before I Blog - June 14, 2013

    […] first jazz recording of The 1,000, Muhal Richard Abram’s Blu Blu Blu, grabbed attention with unique and surprising sounds, ensuring that while there was no guarantee […]

  3. [14] Air – Air Lore | . . . To Hear Before I Blog - July 12, 2013

    […] that it has been the Jazz that has most caught my ear through the first dozen recordings, and if Abrams and Adderley were the appetizer, here is the main […]

  4. [29] Louis Armstrong – Hot Fives and Hot Sevens | . . . To Hear Before I Blog - October 25, 2013

    […] I am still more than glad to hear this, see the strong foundations that allowed Muhal Richard Abrams and Henry Threadgill to go wandering off where they […]

  5. [70] Sidney Bechet – Ken Burns’ Jazz | . . . To Hear Before I Blog - August 8, 2014

    […] point in my journey, I have already declared my love for the far more experimental Jazz titans like Muhal Richard Abrams, Henry Threadgill and Albert Ayler.  That is not to say I haven’t greatly enjoyed some more […]

Leave a Reply

kellycpowers

Days in the life

emilyleelifeandmusic

My rants, outbursts and musings.

Going Gone Global

My name is Allya and I want to see the world

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

musicophilesblog - From Keith Jarrett to Johannes Brahms

Writing About and Reviewing Classical Music and Jazz

Leaves of Logan

Rants, reviews, rambles and a whole lot of books

Power to the Meeple!

A revolution in Board Game journalism and podcasts

Love Nico Tees

Art and Fashion animated by analog spirit. #lovenico

Punk Rock Reviews

Reviewing Music

Team Distraction

Dicemasters Strategy

Good Music Speaks

A music blog written by Rich Brown

The Delinquent Diplomat

The Diplomacy Player's Blog Of Choice

Sampling Station

Tasty tunes, laughs, TV + film

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

Serious Thinks Thought Here

Grown Up Blogging Platform - Same Crappy Content

500 Reasons Why The 80's Didn't Suck

A Division Of Uncle E's Musical Nightmares

Benfica to Brazil

A summer of football...

