[51] Bela Bartok – The String Quartets

28 Mar

Sometimes you simply connect with a piece of music and sometimes, for whatever reason, you do not. I am not sure I can articulate the reasons that this two hours of strings leaves me cold, but it certainly does.

Six String Quartets

Six String Quartets

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perhaps it is the proximity to my discovering the stunning cinematic strings of Samuel Barber – Bartok’s compositions are less immediate, more deliberate and so suffer in comparison.

Perhaps it is a lack of cohesion across the six pieces contained on this recording.

Or perhaps more simply it is the lack of concrete melody – the constant tease of unresolving chord sequences – but whatever the reason, while I do not actively dislike what I am hearing, I am also not at all engaged.

This leaves me a little concerned for the next two recordings, also of Bartok compositions.  To date I have been somewhat all or nothing in my enjoyment of the Classical music on display – two Adams pieces left me flat, while all four J. S. Bach recordings blew my mind.

On the one hand I hope that Bartok’s upcoming orchestral works will reach me in a way that his smaller attempts here have not. But on the other it might be interesting to discover that there are names and styles that I love and those that I do not.

Let’s find out . . .

Next Week: Bela Bartok – Concerto for Orchestra / Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta

Owned before blogging? No. (2 of 51. 4%)
Heard before blogging? No. (4 of 51. 8%)
Recommend? No. (41 of 51. 80%)

One Response to “[51] Bela Bartok – The String Quartets”

Leave a Reply

kellycpowers

Days in the life

emilyleelifeandmusic

My rants, outbursts and musings.

Going Gone Global

My name is Allya and I want to see the world

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

musicophilesblog - From Keith Jarrett to Johannes Brahms

Writing About and Reviewing Classical Music and Jazz

Leaves of Logan

Rants, reviews, rambles and a whole lot of books

Power to the Meeple!

A revolution in Board Game journalism and podcasts

Love Nico Tees

Art and Fashion animated by analog spirit. #lovenico

Punk Rock Reviews

Reviewing Music

Team Distraction

Dicemasters Strategy

Good Music Speaks

A music blog written by Rich Brown

The Delinquent Diplomat

The Diplomacy Player's Blog Of Choice

Sampling Station

Tasty tunes, laughs, TV + film

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

Serious Thinks Thought Here

Grown Up Blogging Platform - Same Crappy Content

500 Reasons Why The 80's Didn't Suck

A Division Of Uncle E's Musical Nightmares

Benfica to Brazil

A summer of football...

