[71] Beck – Mutations

15 Aug

I understand that there is some controversy amongst Beck fans that this is the album chosen by Tom Moon for his list, and that the argument over which recording should replace it is almost as fierce.

Mutations

Mutations

I have to admit that I fully missed the Beck train / bandwagon, unengaged with the popular scene as I was in the mid to late 90s.  I couldn’t fail to have heard the ubiquitous hit, “Loser”, and I liked it well enough, but before pressing play on Mutations I am not certain that I could name a second song by Beck . . .

However, as each song here plays out I enjoy the wide range of instrumentation – the horns here, the steel guitar there, the odd embellishments everywhere.

The varied sounds and styles of the tracks are given cohesion of a kind by Beck’s consistently mellow vocals, a necessary anchor amidst the experimentation swirling around the entire album.  Despite the use of sythesizers and many odd, electronic sounds, the whole does not sound dated.  Perhaps this is due to the fact that these 90s (80s?) sounds are not overused, and are nestled between many traditional arrangements – horns and drums on “Tropicalia”, acoustic strummings on “Dead Melodies”.

It really is a fascinating mix of familiar and unexpected.

Maybe it my recent proximity to weeks and weeks of The Beatles, but “Nobody’s Fault But My Own” sounds like it could have been written by George Harrison, and “Lazy Flies” similarly has a Lennon vibe.  Intentional homage, powerful infulence of The Beatles reaching down across the generations, or my tired ear hearing something thats not there?

Maybe Paul and Ringo could do a “plus Beck” show, the way that Brian May and Roger Taylor have done a series of “Queen plus” tours?

I’m really not sure how often I’ll listen to Mutations once this post goes live.  It is interesting and accomplished, but doesn’t fit neatly into my musical narrative.  Like Ryan Adams before, I am not now (and may never have been) the target audience, don’t have the history and memories to view on the movie screen of my inner eye while the music plays.

But unlike with Heartbreaker, it is crystal clear to me why Tom Moon has recommended these varied and cleverly crafted Mutations to me.

Next Week: Ludwig van Beethoven – Archduke Trio and Kreutzer Sonata

Owned before blogging? No. (9 of 71 = 13%)
Heard before blogging? No. (11 of 71 = 15%)
Recommend? Yes. (57 of 71 = 80%)

Leave a Reply

kellycpowers

Days in the life

emilyleelifeandmusic

My rants, outbursts and musings.

Going Gone Global

My name is Allya and I want to see the world

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

musicophilesblog - From Keith Jarrett to Johannes Brahms

Writing About and Reviewing Classical Music and Jazz

Leaves of Logan

Rants, reviews, rambles and a whole lot of books

Power to the Meeple!

A revolution in Board Game journalism and podcasts

Love Nico Tees

Art and Fashion animated by analog spirit. #lovenico

Punk Rock Reviews

Reviewing Music

Team Distraction

Dicemasters Strategy

The Delinquent Diplomat

The Diplomacy Player's Blog Of Choice

Sampling Station

Tasty tunes, laughs, TV + film

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

Serious Thinks Thought Here

Grown Up Blogging Platform - Same Crappy Content

500 Reasons Why The 80's Didn't Suck

A Division Of Uncle E's Musical Nightmares

Benfica to Brazil

A summer of football...

The Indolent Cell

Follicular lymphoma for fun and profit

